Colorado DUI or DWAI Conviction Means License Points

A conviction for drunk driving in Colorado carries with it a wide range of penalties. In addition to possible jail time and loss of driving privileges, a conviction for a DUI or DWAI means points on your license. If you earn too many points in a certain amount of time, your drivers’ license may be suspended or even revoked.

For each conviction of driving while intoxicated (DWAI), the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles puts eight points on the drivers’ license. Each conviction of driving under the influence or DUI earns 12 license points. Those who are convicted of drinking and driving while under age 21 (sometimes referred to as a “baby DUI”) receive an additional 4 points on their licenses.

DUI license points in Colorado are a serious issue. The Division of Motor Vehicles can suspend the drivers’ license of anyone 21 or older who accumulates 12 points in 12 months or 18 points in 24 months. Young adults between ages 18 and 21 have their licenses suspended if they collect 9 points in 12 months, 12 points in 24 months, or 14 total points between ages 18 and 21. Drivers under age 18 face license suspension if they get 6 points in 12 months or 7 points before turning 18.

Administrative penalties like license points add up to a heavy burden. If you’re facing a drunk driving charge in Colorado, you need an aggressive defense to help you win the best possible outcome in your case. The experienced Colorado drunk driving attorneys at The Bussey Law Firm, P.C. have the legal resources and courtroom experience to fight for you. For a free and confidential case evaluation, call The Bussey Law Firm, P.C. today at 719-475-2555.

Contact Information