Repeat DUI Convictions Mean Stiffer Penalties

A conviction for driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI) in Colorado carries stiff penalties, including jail, fines, and mandatory alcohol and drug treatment. When a driver receives a second DUI conviction, many of the penalties are similar to those for a first DUI – only heavier. Penalties for a second DUI offense in Colorado include:

  1. Jail. Ten consecutive days of jail time are required, and during this time, a person convicted of a second DUI cannot earn or use time off for good behavior. A judge may, however, sentence a person to alternatives like home detention or day reporting even during the required 10-day period. A jail sentence can last up to a year.
  2. Fines. $600 is the minimum fine for a second or later DUI, but the amount can climb as high as $1500. This amount does not include costs for treatment programs, attorney’s bills, restitution, court costs, or other expenses.
  3. Probation. Two years is the minimum for a person who has been convicted of a second DUI, but a probation sentence can last up to five years total.


These aren’t the only penalties a person who is given a conviction for a second DUI, but they are some of the heaviest. If you or someone you care about is facing a drunk driving charge in Colorado, the experienced DUI defense attorneys in Colorado Springs at The Bussey Law Firm, P.C. can help. To discuss your case with us, call us today at (719) 475-2555. The call is free, and we will never share your personal information with anyone.

Contact Information