What Are the Penalties for a First DUI Conviction in Colorado?

What Are the Penalties for a First DUI Conviction in Colorado?

A conviction for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI) in Colorado comes with some pretty heavy penalties, even if the driver has a spotless criminal record. When a driver has been convicted of a first DUI in Colorado and the driver’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was under 0.20, that driver may face various DUI penalties and consequences, such as:

  • Jail. Five days is the minimum required jail sentence for a first DUI, but the sentence can last up to a year. The five days might be waived, however, if the driver completes a drug/alcohol evaluation before sentencing, commits to an alcohol or drug treatment program, and does not drink for at least one year. If the driver breaks any of these requirements, he or she may be sent to jail.
  • Fines of $600 to $1,000. This does not include the costs of jail, treatment programs, license restoration, or other penalties.
  • Probation. A driver might be placed on probation for up to two years. Not all drivers facing a DUI conviction will be given probation, however.
  • Restitution. If a driver is placed on probation, he or she will be required to pay restitution for any property damage or injuries he or she might have caused. Restitution payments are separate from paying fines, and some drivers might be required to pay both.
  • Costs. Finally, a driver might be required to pay court costs. These are based on costs tables kept by the courts.

If you’re facing drunk driving charges in Colorado, please don’t hesitate to contact the experienced Colorado Springs DUI defense attorneys at The Bussey Law Firm, P.C. We have experience defending the legal rights of those charged with DUI, and we will build an aggressive defense that fights for the best possible outcome in your case. For a free and confidential consultation, call us today at (719) 475-2555.

Contact Information