Colorado DUI Rate Has Dropped Over Past Three Years

dui-9167018Small.jpgThe rate of charges for driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI) or driving while ability impaired (DWAI) in Colorado have dropped over the past three years, according to a recent article in the Denver Post.

The report is based on a study of DUI/DWAI filings throughout Colorado from 2009 to the present. Overall, filings have dropped 17.5 percent, according to law enforcement agencies. Law enforcement agencies credit increased penalties for DUI and DWAI in Colorado, as well as increased use of sobriety checkpoints and additional media coverage that warns drivers ahead of time to find sober routes home.

In 2008, Colorado tightened the penalties for DUI or DWAI convictions. A conviction now comes with mandatory jail time, though the length depends on the details of each case. Fines have also been increased, and in some cases may run as high as $1,500. License suspensions and ignition interlock requirements also restrict the ability of those arrested for DUI or DWAI to drive.

Colorado law sets the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit for a DUI at 0.08 percent and for DWAI at 0.05 to 0.07 percent. BAC is typically measured with a breath or blood test.

Drunk driving charges carry serious penalties, some of which apply whether or not you are convicted. At The Bussey Law Firm, P.C., our experienced Colorado DUI defense attorneys are dedicated to building each client the best possible defense in court. For a confidential consultation, call us today at (719) 475-2555.

Contact Information