Boating Under the Influence Laws Stricter in Colorado

Colorado park rangers are warning drivers about boating under the influence this summer. According to this news report, Colorado’s boating under the influence laws became harsher in August with the limit for boating under the influence lowered from the 0.10 blood alcohol content to match the state’s driving under the influence laws at 0.08 percent. Officials say this new law gives rangers more leeway in determining whether a boater is intoxicated. The methods that rangers use to determine a potentially drunk boater are similar to tests used on roadside sobriety checks.

Rangers typically do safety inspections on boaters or stop them if they see boaters acting recklessly or operating their vessels dangerously. The sobriety tests are a little different from those done on the road because the tests usually include a 20-minute wait on the shore to remove the possibility that a person may be off-balance because of being on the water. Sentences for first-time offenders for boating under the influence in Colorado could range from five days to six months in jail and a fine of $100 to $1,000, and as many as two years probation and a mandatory three-month ban on boating in state waters.

If you or a loved one has been arrested on suspicion of boating under the influence, please understand that you have legal rights. These charges could still involve serious consequences including hefty fines and jail times. If you have been charged with driving under the influence or boating under the influence, please contact experienced Colorado Springs DUI defense attorneys at the Bussey Law Firm P.C. to find out how we can get your charges dismissed or reduced and your fines diminished. Please call us today to schedule your free consultation.

Contact Information