How Might Colorado License Points Result in a License Suspension?

In Colorado, the Department of Motor Vehicles is responsible for keeping track of driver’s licenses. This includes keeping track of traffic violations and other crimes that a driver might be convicted of, so that the Department can suspend or revoke a driver’s license if the law requires it. One way a Colorado driver might face suspension is if he or she receives too many “points” in a certain amount of time.

Driver’s license points are given when drivers are convicted of certain traffic or other offenses. These include convictions for DUI (driving under the influence), hit and run, and driving with a license already suspended or revoked. A driver’s license might be suspended or revoked due to too many points if the driver is 21 years or older and has had 12 points in the last 12 months or 18 points in the last 24 months. For drivers ages 18 to 20, suspension may occur if the driver has 9 points in the last 12 months, 12 points in the last 24 months, or 14 points total while he or she is 18, 19, or 20 years old. Drivers under the age of 18 face suspension if they earn 6 points in 12 months or 7 points total before reaching age 18.

Drivers facing suspension due to points are entitled to a hearing. Experienced Colorado DMV points attorney Timothy Bussey has represented many drivers in DMV hearings, and he can help you fight to keep your driving privileges. To learn more, call The Bussey Law Firm, P.C. today at (719) 475-2555.

Contact Information