Juvenile Criminal Mischief Law in Colorado

Colorado Juvenile Mischief PenaltiesCriminal mischief is described under Colorado state law to include any act that involves knowing destruction to another person’s property during one criminal offense. The law, found under Criminal Mischief (18-4-501), also covers a property owned together by a party.

Regularly seen offenses of Colorado criminal mischief are vandalism and property destruction, which may also include trespassing charges and others depending on the circumstances of the act. In Colorado, young people (or “juveniles” ages 10 to 17 years old) accused of criminal mischief usually face accounts of vandalizing or damaging property. These types of charges can either be misdemeanors or felonies, again depending on the conditions of the crime and the determined value of the managed property.

Usually, the crime is tried as a misdemeanor if the property worth is below $1,000 and as a felony for offenses damaging property valued higher than that amount. Criminal mischief by a minor that causes $20,000 or more in destruction to another party’s property is a class 3 felony, which may result in imprisonment of up to 12 years if the juvenile is prosecuted as an adult in the state. If convicted, the individual may also be held responsible for remunerating repairs or property replacement costs.

The main difference in penalties is that a misdemeanor holds a maximum charge of under one year in county prison, while a felony may result in one year or more in a state penitentiary. Juveniles facing criminal mischief charges in Colorado should align with an experienced criminal defense attorney that will provide strong guidance and vigilance to protect the minor’s future. Contact the Colorado Springs juvenile crime defense attorneys with the Bussey Law Firm, P.C. at (719) 475-2555 for a free and confidential consultation.

Contact Information