What is Colorado’s Ignition Interlock Device Law?

Drivers who are convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI) may be required to have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed on their vehicles. The ignition interlock device requires the driver to provide a breath sample before starting the car and at certain intervals while driving. If the device senses alcohol on the driver’s breath, the car will not start. The device automatically logs times, dates, and blood alcohol content (BAC) results, which are downloaded periodically.

For a driver who is convicted of DUI in Colorado for the first time and had a BAC below 0.17 percent, an IID is one option for the driver to get their license back more quickly. After serving 30 days, the driver may have the license returned if the ignition interlock device stays on the car for at least eight months.

Drivers who are convicted of subsequent DUI offenses face a longer IID requirement. Most will have the device on their cars for two years, but a driver who is categorized as a “habitual traffic offender” faces up to four years of using the device.

All drivers who have an ignition interlock device placed on their cars as part of the penalties for a DUI in Colorado receive a restricted license that prohibits them from driving any vehicle without an ignition interlock device. Any driver who is found to have disobeyed this requirement or tampered with an ignition interlock device faces an additional license suspension of up to one year.

Ignition interlock devices are just one of the many penalties a Colorado driver faces if they are convicted of drunk driving. Experienced Colorado drunk driving attorney Timothy Bussey is committed to fighting for the best possible outcome in each case he handles. For a free and confidential consultation, call The Bussey Law Firm, P.C., today at 719-475-2555.

Contact Information